

Supreme Court of New Zealand | Te Kōti Mana Nui o Aotearoa

November 2024

Monday 4 – Friday 15	SC 121/2023
November 2024	SC 123/2023
	SC 124/2023
Glazebrook J	SC 125/2023
Ellen France J	SC 126/2023
Williams J	SC 128/2023
Kós J	SC 129/2023
French J	

Whakatōhea Kotahitanga Waka (Edwards) R Fowler KC, T Sinclair and B Cunningham

Ngāti Muriwai *M J Sharp*

Kutarere Marae *M J Sharp*

Te Upokorehe Treaty Claims Trust On Behalf Of Te Upokorehe Iwi *J S Cooper KC, B R Lyall and H L B Swedlund*

Attorney-General

A J Williams, R L Roff and Y Moinfar-Yong

Ngāti Ira O Waiōweka, Ngāti Patumoana, Ngāti Ruatākenga And Ngāi Tamahaua (Te Kāhui Takutai Moana O Ngā Whānau Me Ngā Hapū O Te Whakatōhea)

A T Sykes and S W H Fletcher for Ngāti Ira O Waioweka M S Smith and T Bennion for Ngāti Patumoana K S Feint KC and N A T Udy for Ngāti Ruatākenga C M T Panoho-Navaja for Ngai Tamahaua hapū

Ngāti Ruatākenga

K S Feint KC and N A T Udy

٧

Ngāti Ira O Waiōweka, Ngāti Patumoana, Ngāti Ruatākenga And Ngāi Tamahaua (Te Kāhui Takutai Moana O Ngā Whānau Me Ngā Hapū O Te Whakatōhea)

A T Sykes and S W H Fletcher for Ngāti Ira O Waioweka M S Smith and T Bennion for Ngāti Patumoana K S Feint KC and N A T Udy for Ngāti Ruatākenga C M T Panoho-Navaja for Ngai Tamahaua hapū

Te Tāwharau O Te Whakatōhea (Formerly Whakātōhea Māori Trust Board) J M Pou

Ngāi Tai And Ririwhenua

E K Rongo, A Gordon and B R Arapere

Te Upokorehe Treaty Claims Trust On Behalf Of Te Upokorehe Iwi

J S Cooper KC, B R Lyall and H L B Swedlund

Te Rūnanga O Ngāti Awa

D M Salmon KC, H K Irwin-Easthope and R K Douglas

Whakatōhea Kotahitanga Waka (Edwards)

R Fowler KC, T Sinclair and B Cunningham

Ngāti Ruatākenga

K S Feint KC and N A T Udy

Ngāti Muriwai

M J Sharp

Kutarere Marae

M J Sharp

Landowners Coalition Incorporated

J E Hodder KC, B E Morten and S O H Coad

And

Attorney-General

A J Williams, R L Roff and Y Moinfar-Yong

Te Rūnanga o Te Whanau on behalf of Te Whānau-Ā-Apanui

M K Mahuika and N R Coates

Seafood Industry Representatives T D Smith and R J J Wales				
Crown Regional Holdings Limited				
M H Hill and J L Hollis				
Ōpōtiki District Council				
M H Hill and J L Hollis	M H Hill and J L Hollis			
Bay Of Plenty Regional Council				
R M Boyte				
N W Boyte				
Whakatāne District Council				
A M Green and E S Greensmith-West				
Landowners Coalition Incorporated				
J E Hodder KC, B E Morten and S O H Coad	J E Hodder KC, B E Morten and S O H Coad			
To Dünanga O Ngōti Avva				
D M Salmon KC, H K Irwin-Easthope and R K Douglas	Te Rūnanga O Ngāti Awa			
D W Suimon KC, H K II Win-Eusthope and K K Douglas				
As Interested Parties				
And	50			
Ngā Hapū o Ngāti Porou as Intervener				
M K Mahuika, T N Hauraki and H L Ammunson				
Civil Appeals Hearing				
Civil Appeals rearing				
Grounds on which The approved question is the correctness of the judgment of the Court of				
leave was granted Appeal.				
Supreme Court leave WHAKATŌHEA KOTAHITANGA WAKA (EDWARDS) v TE KĀHUI TAKUTAI MOA				
application decision O NGĀ WHĀNAU ME NGĀ HAPŪ O TE WHAKATŌHEA [2024] NZSC 33 [17 Ap	<u>'il</u>			
<u>2024]</u>	02			
Court of Appeal [2023] NZCA 504	59			
decision				
High Court decision Re Edwards (Te Whakatōhea No. 2) [2021] NZHC 1025 [7 May 2021]				

Tuesday 19 November 2024 Winkelmann CJ Glazebrook J Williams J Kós J Miller J	SC 55/2024 Students for Climate Solutions Incorporated J Every-Palmer KC V Minister of Energy and Resources A Boadita-Cormican and D Ranchhod Oral Leave Hearing
Court of Appeal decision High Court decision	STUDENTS FOR CLIMATE SOLUTIONS INCORPORATED v MINISTER OF ENERGY AND RESOURCES [2024] NZCA 152 [7 May 2024] STUDENTS FOR CLIMATE SOLUTIONS INCORPORATED v THE MINISTER OF ENERGY AND RESOURCES [2022] NZHC 2116 [24 August 2022]

Judges as seen from public seating

<u>4 – 15 November 2024</u>

| The Hon Justice |
|-----------------|-----------------|-----------------|-----------------|-----------------|
| French | Williams | Glazebrook | Ellen France | Kós |

19 November 2024

The Hon Justice	The Hon Justice	The Rt Hon the	The Hon Justice	The Hon Justice
Miller	Williams	Chief Justice	Glazebrook	Kós